App functions sdk sample for MQTT with SSL

Hello.
I’d like to share the work I’ve done to enable SSL comunications inside the app-functions-sdk to send messages to MQTT. I’m a newbie to EdgeX and maybe this could help other newbies like me. My expected result was to send MQTT msgs from EdgeX to Mosquitto using SSL on the same machine running Ubuntu.

Before running Mosquitto I created self signed certificates with a nice script suite I’ve found on github. I had to modify one line of the script that was causing issues on Ubuntu, if you need it, my version is here: easy CA
My tree under /etc/mosquitto is
├── ca_certificates
│ ├── ca.crt
│ ├── ca.key
│ └── README
├── certs
│ ├── localhost.server.crt
│ ├── localhost.server.key
│ └── README
└── conf.d
├── default.conf
└── README

The default.conf contains these lines:

log_dest file /var/log/mosquitto/mosquitto.log
listener 8883
cafile /etc/mosquitto/ca_certificates/ca.crt
certfile /etc/mosquitto/certs/localhost.server.crt
keyfile /etc/mosquitto/certs/localhost.server.key
require_certificate true

I had to install the CA certificate used by Mosquitto on Ubuntu, otherwise I would get error “Unknown CA authority” when the client would try to connect to Mosquitto

I’ve cloned app functions sdk and modified the file simple-filter-xml-mqtt/main.go :

addressable := models.Addressable{
Address: “localhost”,
Port: 8883,
Protocol: “tcps”,
Publisher: “MyApp”,
User: “”,
Password: “”,
Topic: “test”,}

pair := transforms.KeyCertPair{
KeyFile: “user-localhost.client.key”,
CertFile: “user-localhost.client.crt”,
}

mqttSender := transforms.NewMQTTSender(edgexSdk.LoggingClient, addressable, &pair, mqttConfig, false)

I’ve also modified the file pkg/transforms/mqtt.go to NOT skip the certificate verification:

tlsConfig := &tls.Config{
ClientCAs: nil,
InsecureSkipVerify: false,
Certificates: []tls.Certificate{cert},
}